Georgia DUI Lawyer

First Offense DUI in GA Georgia DUI Laws First Offense

Unfortunately, the hard truth in the State of Georgia, is that it makes no difference you have had a clean record, or have never been arrested in your life. Being arrested in Georgia for a DUI carries some stiff penalties.

Because Georgia DUI laws are designed to deter motorists from drinking and driving, Georgia enforces mandatory sentencing guidelines on anyone who is found guilty of the offense—even if it’s your DUI first offense in Georgia.

Regardless of the circumstances of your arrest, a first-time DUI conviction carries a mandatory jail sentence, license suspension, and fine. As a result, if you are found guilty of Georgia DUI, you can expect to spend at least 24 hours behind bars, pay anywhere from $300 to $1,000 in fines, and lose your driving privileges for 30 days or more.

In addition, you’ll also have to perform 40 hours of community service and may be placed on probation. In some cases, the judge may even require you to undergo alcohol treatment and/or enroll in a driver’s education program—all at your own expense. And, once your sentence is complete, you’ll face increased insurance rates, as well as the consequences of having a DUI conviction listed on your criminal record indefinitely.

Of course, there are many ways to avoid these penalties—and when it comes to challenging a Georgia DUI, a strong defense makes the best offense. As one of the most successful DUI firms in Fulton and Douglass Counties, The Howard Law Group can make sure you have the best possible defense strategy. Our attorneys will review the evidence against you to determine the right course of action for you in order to improve your chances of obtaining a positive resolution to your case.

For a free one-hour consultation on your case, submit your information online today, or contact us directly. One of our attorneys will be in touch with you shortly to schedule an in-person meeting to discuss your case. If you choose us for your representation, we’ll get started on your case right away—preparing a free license appeal letter to help you retain your driving privileges and avoid a lengthy suspension.

 

One thought on “First Offense DUI in GA”

Comments are closed.