Filed Under: DUI Laws Georgia
For most people living in Georgia, understanding the difference between a misdemeanor and a felony can be confusing if you aren’t in the legal field. Generally speaking for Georgia, and most states, a felony is the more serious of the two offenses, and can result in a harsher sentence than a misdemeanor offense. In light of the difference in penalties, you may wonder about which type of charge you are facing after being arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Georgia. Especially if this is a First Offense
What Makes a Georgia DUI a Felony?
Most Georgia DUIs are considered a misdemeanor; however, there are several extenuating circumstances that can increase the charge to a felony offense. These include causing property damage, bodily injury, or wrongful death, fleeing the scene of an accident, or evading the police, to name a few. You could also face additional felony charges for transporting a minor while under the influence or excessive speeding while impaired.
Habitual offenders may also face a felony in Georgia. If you were arrested for a fourth drunk-driving offense within 10 years, you could be charged with a felony. This is a serious offense, so it’s important to speak with an attorney right away if you have been convicted of DUI on three prior occasions in the past.
The Sentence for a Georgia DUI Felony
A felony conviction will result in a number of severe penalties, including an increased license suspension period, expensive fines, and even time in state prison. You may also be ordered to perform community service and seek treatment for substance abuse.
These aren’t the only consequences that come with a felony. As a convicted felon, you will have problems applying to jobs, obtaining security clearances and professional licenses, and even leaving the country. In addition, civil liberties that other Americans take for granted—such as voting or owning a gun—can be taken away from you.
If you or someone you know has been arrested on a Georgia DUI. Please contact us at the Howard Law Group ASAP. You have 10 days to apply for a reinstatement of your driving privileges. We can help.